Student Portal

Shipping Sector

The BCA Board of Directors has recently established the Academic Maritime Sector Advisory Board. The principal responsibility of this new academic board is to provide academic advice regarding the adjustment of BCA’s academic programs to the needs of the shipping labor market. In a fast changing business environment, innovative institutions of higher education such as BCA are expected to maximize their responsiveness to current challenges.

The role and function of the Academic Maritime Sector Advisory Board are the following:

  1. To participate in academic conferences and keep abreast of the recent developments and trends in the international academic environment to raise academic standards for the benefit of shipping students.
  2. To modify and enrich the existing academic programs as dictated by the current demands of the shipping industry with a view to fostering the shipping students’ employability.


This academic board consists of prominent personalities, widely acknowledged for their significant contribution to the Greek as well as the intentional business scene. Their invaluable experience, knowledge and
commitment to our college will undoubtedly lead to the amelioration and further development of our academic services offered to our students.


Academic Board Membership:



  • Professor Konstantinos Gkiziakis, ex-Head of the Shipping Department at the University of Piraeus, President of BCA’s Academic Maritime Sector Advisory Board.



  • Mr. John Platsidakis, General Director of the Angelikoussis Shipping Group
  • Dr. Georgios Gratsos, Former President of the Hellenic Chamber of Shipping
  • Mr. Ioannis Pachoulis, Former President of the Hellenic Shipbrokers’ Association
  • Mr. Nickolaos Vernikos, President of the International Chamber of Commerce
  • Mr. Harry Vafeias, CEO of Stealth Maritime INC.
  • Mr. Charalambos Simantonis, President of the Hellenic Short Sea Ship-owners’ Association
  • Mr. George Gabriel, Director of Golden Union Shipping Co SA
  • Mr. Eythimios Mitropoulos, Ηonorary Secretary General of the IMO